State Minimum Car Insurance in Pennsylvania 

Pennsylvania law requires all drivers to purchase and maintain auto insurance in order to legally operate a vehicle in the state. Maintaining financial responsibility is necessary to avoid suspension of vehicle registration. The Pennsylvania Department of Motor Vehicles provides clear guidance on what insurance drivers have to maintain at a minimum. Keep in mind, however, that the state minimum car insurance in Pennsylvania is rarely enough coverage to responsibly protect against the risk.

State Required Car Insurance in PA

All vehicles that require registration must have coverage. This includes all cars, motorcycles, recreational vehicles, trucks, buses, and vans. To maintain compliance, individuals must purchase and maintain (at minimum) the following auto insurance coverages:

Bodily Injury Liability Coverage
• At least $15,000 of coverage for injury or death of one person in an accident
• At least $30,000 of coverage for injury or death of more than one person in an accident
Bodily injury liability insurance helps to pay for the injuries you cause to another person in a car accident. This type of insurance helps to pay their medical bills and any rehabilitation expenses they have incurred as a result of the accident. It applies when you are at fault for causing the accident.

Property Damage Liability Coverage
• At least $5,000 of coverage for damage to property of another person
This type of coverage applies when you cause damage to someone else’s property in an accident. It can help to pay the cost to repair or replace the damaged property.

First Party Medical Benefits Coverage
• $5,000 of coverage for medical bills.
This type of coverage applies to medical losses for you and your passengers after an accident. It may cover medical expenses related to the accident, such as emergency care, dental treatment, and hospitalization.

Underinsured and Uninsured Motorist Coverage

Pennsylvania requires all insurance companies to offer uninsured (UM) and underinsured (UIM) motorist coverage to all parties purchasing auto insurance. However, some drivers may decide to opt-out of this coverage; doing so can be risky. When in place, UM/UIM coverage helps pay for your injury-related expenses when the other driver who caused the accident has no bodily injury liability coverage, or the coverage amount that driver has is too low to fully cover the loss. It may also come into play when someone hits your vehicle, causing injury to you, and leaves the scene without providing you with their insurance information. Pennsylvania UM/UIM coverage does not cover damages to your vehicle or property.

What You Should Know About Minimum Auto Insurance Coverage in Pennsylvania

While these minimum coverages are a requirement in the state of Pennsylvania, they are not usually enough coverage and most licensed agents will recommend that you carry higher limits and additional coverage. A single accident can cause tens of thousands of dollars in medical bills, well above the $5,000 minimum requirement. Anything over this amount would typically fall to the at-fault driver to pay out-of-pocket.
Increasing your liability insurance tends to be very affordable and easy to do. Work with your agent to determine the right amount of PA auto insurance based on your individual budget and risk factors.
While it is wise to shop around for auto insurance, it’s usually not a good idea to simply choose the cheapest price or the lowest amount of coverage. If you only maintain the minimum insurance year-after-year, insurance companies may classify you as a less than ideal risk, compared to someone who maintains higher limits. As a result, when you shop around for new insurance, you may not qualify for the best rates because of your past insurance buying habits. A history of purchasing minimum coverages may mean you are too risky to qualify for the best discounts and rating factors.

What About Other Coverage?

Another key factor to keep in mind is that minimum coverage can expose you to other risks. For example, if your vehicle is stolen, vandalized, exposed to hail or damaged by fire, liability insurance does not cover you at all. For these types of occurrences, you would need to carry comprehensive coverage. In addition, if you strike a pole or hit something while driving, you do not have protection against vehicle damage losses when you carry only liability and the other minimum coverages. For these types of occurrences, you would need collision coverage. To protect your own vehicle, you would need comprehensive and collision insurance.
Meeting state-required auto insurance levels and adding the other coverages that you may need is easy to do. Work with an insurer who can help you find the right types and amounts of coverage for your vehicle above and beyond the minimum levels. To learn more about what coverages are right for you and for your budget, call one of our experienced Plymouth Rock agents today or explore coverages yourself by getting a quote on our easy to use eSales tool.

Call 855-993-4470, get your free quote online, or find an agent to learn more about state minimum car insurance in Pennsylvania. Visit our contact us page if you need to call us with additional questions.