Car Insurance When You Have a Learner’s Permit in Connecticut

Earning a driver’s license takes time in CT – as it does in most states. Most often, new drivers, especially those under the age of 18, will need to go through an extended learning process. This period of time allows a person to learn and practice driving with supervision before taking their driver’s test and driving on their own. During this time of learning, drivers should know that you do need car insurance when you have a learner’s permit in Connecticut.

Auto Insurance Requirements for Student Drivers in Connecticut

Drivers with a learner’s permit must be accompanied by a driver at least 20 years old who has had an unsuspended license for at least 4 consecutive years. This helps ensure the new motorist has someone with experience to guide them and, hopefully, to help them avoid accidents.

A driver operating under a learner’s permit is liable for any damage or injuries they cause to third parties, just like any other driver. If you cause an accident, even as a new driver who makes a mistake, you will be responsible for the losses someone else suffers. That’s why it is so important to be protected with the proper car insurance when you begin taking to the roadways.

This protection should come from the auto insurance carried by the owner of the vehicle you are driving. Connecticut does not require operators with learner’s permits to maintain their own auto insurance policy. You do not have to be added to a car insurance policy as a listed operator until you are a licensed driver.

Getting a Learner’s Permit

Teens who are 16 or 17 years of age can obtain a learner’s permit after completing the 25-question permit knowledge test and passing a vision test. The same applies to those who are over the age of 18 and obtaining a permit. 

You can learn more about the legal requirements for obtaining a driver’s license in Connecticut on the Department of Motor Vehicle’s website.

Insurance for those with a Learner’s Permit

As a teen driver heading out onto the road, it can be worrisome if you’re not sure who is responsible for accidents or damage you cause. The first thing to remember is that you should never drive a vehicle that is uninsured. In all cases, you should have the permission of the vehicle’s owner to drive the vehicle.

As a driver with a learner’s permit, if you cause bodily injury or damage to another person’s car, your protection will come from the vehicle owner’s liability insurance. In general, auto insurance follows the car, not the operator. That means if a person lends their car to someone else for a day, and the driver causes an accident, the car owner’s insurance policy should cover the damage assuming the owner carries adequate coverage. That’s why it is always important to have insurance on the vehicle you take out on the road while learning to drive. However, if the owner’s car insurance is not enough to cover that damage, you could be found liable for the losses that exceed the limits of the owner’s policy.

Should Parents Add Teen Drivers to Their Policy?

As your teen starts to practice driving, it is a good idea to contact your auto insurance carrier to let them know you may be adding a new driver to the policy. Connecticut law does not require drivers still on their learner’s permit to have their own auto insurance, but it is wise to be ready for the addition of that teen as a listed driver on your policy.

Typically, younger people who drive represent a higher risk to insurance companies. They have less experience, which makes it more likely they will cause an accident or damage to the car or others. Also, teen drivers are also more likely to take reckless action. Because the insurer does not know what type of driver your teen will be, it can be pricey to add a teen to a policy.

However, typically the costs are much higher if the teen has his or her own policy. It might make better financial sense for the parent to own the vehicle so it can be added to the parent’s existing policy. Bundling coverage between all household members like this can significantly reduce overall costs in most cases.

If your teenager is beginning to drive in Connecticut, you are likely to experience a significant increase in your overall car insurance costs for the next few years. Now is an ideal time to do your homework and shop around for the best value you can find and avoid unnecessary costs. Call Plymouth Rock Assurance today to get started, or take advantage of our easy to use online quoting tool. Use our eSales quoting option to get an idea of what it will cost to add your new driver at different levels of coverage.

Get your free online quote or find a local agent to save on your Connecticut car insurance. Contact us or call 855-993-4470 for additional information.