What happens if you drive without insurance in CT

Driving without car insurance in Connecticut can be a costly mistake. If you are finding that paying for auto insurance coverage or purchasing a new policy is too expensive, you may be tempted to drive without coverage. This may seem understandable if costs are high, but doing so is illegal and comes with serious risks.

State Law Requires Auto Insurance

Connecticut state law requires all drivers to maintain at least the following auto insurance coverages:

      • $25,000 for property damage liability coverage for an accident you cause<
      • $25,000 for bodily injury liability coverage per person hurt in an accident you cause
      • $50,000 for bodily injury liability coverage for two or more individuals in an accident you cause
      • Underinsured and uninsured motorist coverage of $25,000 per person or $50,000 total per accident. Driving without this type and amount of insurance means you are not meeting the state minimum requirements (remember, state minimums are rarely enough coverage to provide you with adequate financial protection).

All vehicles on roadways must be registered in the state. To register, you must have these insurance policies in place.

Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Connecticut

Any time you are pulled over, for any reason, a police officer may require that you show proof of insurance coverage. You will also have to show proof of insurance when registering your vehicle. If you do not have this, you could face penalties.

A conviction will result in a fine of $100 to $1000, and suspended registration and license for a month for the first offense. . Before you resume driving legally you will need to show proof that your vehicle has been registered, and insurance is reinstated within a specific amount of time. If you fail to do so, you may have a suspension of your vehicle registration, making it illegal for your vehicle to be on the roadways. It also means you will be unable to register any other vehicle in the state.

Risk of Financial Devastation Due to a Car Accident

Put aside the legal consequences of not having auto insurance in place for a moment and consider what could happen if you are operating a vehicle without coverage when an accident occurs. For example, if someone brakes suddenly in front of you and you hit that vehicle, you may be responsible for the damage. This is a very common type of accident, and can happen to any driver.

Costs related to a motor vehicle accident can escalate quickly. They may include medical bills for the emergency room trip (even if there are not extensive injuries). It could mean surgeries, hospitalizations, long-term rehabilitation, and lost time at work. In some cases, these costs can escalate to tens or hundreds of thousands of dollars. In a serious accident, the costs can be extraordinary. There is also property damage to consider, such as the costs to repair a damaged vehicle.

If you do not have auto insurance in place, you may have to pay for these costs out of pocket. If you don’t, you may face a lawsuit from the injured party. That could put your savings on the line. Any work you’ve done to build your financial security could be at risk.

On top of this, you will lose your driving privileges for driving without insurance. That would instantly complicate factors such as driving to work each day. It could mean you have to rely on someone else to take you to work or force you into the limitations of public transportation schedules, routes and expenses.

What’s more, if you do not have coverage for your own property, such as collision insurance or comprehensive insurance, which are not legally required, that means you would have to pay for any damage to your vehicle out of pocket as well.

The Cost of Getting Insurance

Even if an accident never happens, getting auto insurance back in place after your policy has lapsed can be costly. When you let your insurance lapse, insurers may rate your policy in a higher risk group. That usually drives up the cost of purchasing a policy. Even allowing your auto insurance to expire for a few days may be viewed by insurers as making you a higher risk. Some insurance companies will not offer insurance to people with lapses in coverage. Many that do offer it will charge you more due to the lapse in coverage

What Can You Do To Avoid This?

Make sure your auto insurance is always in place. Even if you just forgot to pay the premium and it lapsed for a week or longer, that’s a risk that you don’t want to take. You can typically set up auto-payment to ensure this does not occur.

If your auto insurance policy is too expensive, start working on finding a more affordable option. You can request quotes from various carriers and choose policies with lower coverage amounts to help lower the costs. Discounts, rewards, and a higher deductible may help lower your insurance costs as well. Whenever possible, be sure your auto insurance in Connecticut is always in place to minimize the costly risks of going without coverage. Call Plymouth Rock Assurance today and find out how much you could save. Our friendly, licensed agents can help you explore and customize your coverage options to find a policy and price that work for you.

Get your free online quote or find a local agent to know more about what happens when you drive without insurance in CT. Contact us or call 855-993-4470 for additional information.