Minimum Insurance Required in Connecticut 

Connecticut state law requires all vehicles registered for operation on state roads to have liability insurance (bodily injury and property damage coverages) along with uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance. Liability insurance, generally speaking, is coverage for damage and injury you cause to others. It is illegal to drive a vehicle without the minimum insurance required in Connecticut. Connecticut is a “fault” state: that means the driver who caused the accident is considered “at fault,” and their auto insurance will typically pay for the damage suffered by the other drivers or involved parties, up to the limits of the purchased coverage.

If you fail to maintain liability insurance, the Department of Motor Vehicles can assess a fee and suspend registration for the vehicle, making it illegal to use that vehicle. You will have to show proof of insurance before being allowed to operate the vehicle again.

Obtaining the minimum required auto insurance in Connecticut is not difficult, and it can be relatively affordable. You should know a few things about these key requirements.

Who Is Covered Under Liability Insurance?

Liability insurance covers people you injure or property of others that you damage. It does not cover any damage to your own car or your own medical bills. You should also know that this type of insurance follows your car. That means if a family member is driving your vehicle with your permission and is in an accident, the liability insurance applies to that accident.

What Type and Amount of Insurance Coverage Are You Required to Maintain?

Under the state’s laws, you must maintain bodily injury and property damage liability coverage. The minimum required amounts of liability insurance in Connecticut include:
Bodily Injury Coverage Requirements:

    • $25,000 of coverage for bodily injury per person per accident
    • $50,000 of coverage for bodily injury per accident when two or more people are injured.

Bodily injury insurance helps cover medical bills and losses associated with an accident you cause. It can help cover another person’s medical bills, hospitalizations, and rehabilitation needs.

Property Damage Coverage Requirements:

      • $25,000 of coverage for property damage per accident.

Property damage coverage helps pay for damage you cause because of an accident involving another person’s property. This could include damage to another vehicle, mailboxes, or other structures.

Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage:

      • $25,000 per person
      • $50,000 total per accident

Connecticut requires drivers to maintain underinsured and uninsured motorist coverage. This coverage provides you with financial protection if you are in a car accident that another driver causes, but that driver lacks insurance or does not have enough liability insurance to cover your losses. This can also apply in situations where the driver flees the scene, and you do not get their information.

Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage applies when your injuries exceed the other driver’s limit of liability and pays out up to your UIM limits. For example, if your injuries total $75,000 and the other driver has a limit of $25,000, and your UIM limit is $50,000, the other driver’s insurance will pay $25,000, and your UIM coverage will contribute an additional $25,000, so that the total you receive is your UIM limit of $50,000.

Underinsured Motorist Conversion Coverage

This is an optional coverage under which payments from the at-fault driver’s insurance is not offset against your UIM limits. Using the example above, the other driver’s policy will pay $25,000, and with UIM Conversion coverage, you will also receive $50,000 from your UIM coverage, so you would receive a total of $75,000 towards your loss.

Minimum Auto Insurance Is Not Enough for Most

Most drivers should carry more than the Connecticut minimum required coverage. The minimums on these policies are very low. For example, if two people are in a car that you hit, $50,000 worth of medical coverage may not be enough to cover all of their medical bills. In some cases it may not even cover the emergency room visit. Anything above the maximum coverage limit listed on your policy is still your legal responsibility to pay.
That’s why most drivers should purchase a higher coverage limit than the state’s minimum requirements. Doing so can be more affordable than you realize. It can also provide peace of mind knowing you do not have to pay those potential costs out-of-pocket.

Liability Insurance Is Rarely Enough

As a driver, it is important to protect not just other drivers through liability insurance, but yourself, your family, and your own vehicle as well. As mentioned above, liability insurance does not do that. It only protects others. You may experience damage to your car from storms, vandalism, or theft that would not be covered under an insurance policy that only has the required liability coverage. You need to have comprehensive coverage to protect against those losses.
In addition, if you cause damage to your own car, liability insurance doesn’t cover those losses. That’s where collision insurance comes into play. It helps cover damage you cause to your own property.
The best way to choose auto insurance in Connecticut is to work closely with an agent who can assess your budget and personal insurance needs and provide you with a complete policy. Protecting your own assets and meeting state minimums is critical for all drivers and vehicle owners. Call an experienced Plymouth Rock licensed agent today to get advice and a free, no-obligation auto insurance quote.

Plymouth Rock Assurance® and Plymouth Rock® are brand names and service marks used by separate underwriting, managed insurance, and management companies that offer property and casualty insurance in multiple states pursuant to licensing agreements. Each underwriting and managed insurance company is a separate legal entity that is financially responsible only for its own insurance products. Connecticut auto insurance is underwritten by Plymouth Rock Assurance Corporation and Palisades Insurance Company. Terms and conditions apply to these coverages. Actual coverage is subject to the language of the policies as issued by each separate company.

Get your free online quote or find a local agent to learn more about the minimum insurance required in Connecticut. Contact us or call 855-993-4470 for additional information.