heroimage_ctcapitol_ctinsuranceguide.jpg

Who Needs Liability Coverage 

Are you wondering who needs to have liability coverage on their auto policy? While many available auto insurance coverages, like comprehensive and collision, are not mandated, you will, indeed, need to purchase bodily injury and property damage liability coverages if you want to legally operate a vehicle in the state of CT. You will also need to be sure to carry at least the minimum required liability limits. See below for the minimum coverage limits, as well as some other minimum coverage requirements for all CT drivers.

Auto Insurance Liability

Liability coverage is essential because it protects you as a driver in the event that you cause bodily injury or property damage to others. Connecticut law requires that you carry minimum bodily injury liability limits of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident as well as property damage liability limits of $25,000. Bodily injury liability covers physical injuries that require medical attention and property damage liability covers property damage associated with striking other cars, buildings, fences, and the like.       

Most insurance professionals will strongly recommend purchasing more than the minimums for liability insurance. The cost of an accident that you cause can easily surpass these minimums and expose you to large expenses for which you may be personally responsible.      

Other Required Auto Insurance Limits

In addition to mandatory liability protection, all drivers in CT are required to carry uninsured and underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) coverage. This auto insurance coverage protects you against the risk of an accident with other drivers who either do not have auto insurance or do not carry adequate limits to cover the bodily injury you and your passengers sustain. The required limits are also $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for UM/UIM coverage.

The Penalty for Driving Without Liability Coverage

If you operate a private passenger vehicle registered in CT, and you fail to maintain the minimum auto insurance required by state law, you could be in big trouble! According to the Department of Motor Vehicles, driving without required auto insurance will result in a $200 fine, suspended registration of the vehicle and a suspension of the driver to register any additional vehicles in the state of CT.

If you still have questions about liability insurance or need to obtain the required auto coverage in CT, consider Plymouth Rock Assurance. Plymouth Rock offers the coverage you need at an affordable cost with competitive prices. You can also find more information on our site about comparing insurance companies and discounts you may be eligible for.

Solid coverage, exceptional customer service and industry-leading claims service make Plymouth Rock the liability coverage leader for drivers in Connecticut. Call Plymouth Rock to get your free quote today! 

Plymouth Rock Assurance and Plymouth Rock are brand names and service marks used by separate underwriting, managed insurance, and management companies that offer property and casualty insurance in multiple states. In Connecticut auto insurance is underwritten by Plymouth Rock Assurance Corporation and Palisades Insurance Company. Each company is a separate legal entity that is financially responsible only for its own insurance products. Actual coverage is subject to the language of the policies as issued by each separate company.

Call 855-993-4470, get a quote online, or find a local agent to find out more about who needs liability insurance in Connecticut from Plymouth Rock. For more information, visit our Contact Us page.